Music Director

Hilarie Clark Moore's curiosity and desire to learn everything she can about music - its history, the theory, and performance practices - has motivated her to approach music from   

all angles. Her education blends both music academia and performance. At the University of Connecticut, she received her Bachelor of Music Degree on French horn performance in 1985. In 1991, she earned her Ph.D. in music theory from Yale University. As a conductor, she directs the Chamber Music by the River, the New London Community Orchestra, and the Cheshire Symphony Orchestra. In the past, she has directed the SUNY Orange Community Orchestra and the SUNY Orange Chamber Ensemble. She has also served as assistant conductor of the Hudson Opera Theatre, conducted Sweeney Todd for SummerStar Theatre, and has been a guest conductor for Cortlandt Chamber Orchestra and the Willamantic Orchestra. For more information, go to

For detailed musician guidelines,

click button.

Who We Are

Former CSO violist Jessica Tan wrote a college admission essay that beautifully describes her experience with the CSO. To view the essay, click here.

Click button for 2020 Spring Concert

 rehearsal schedule

2019-20 Musicians

First Violins

Edan Sabah


Jaime Blois

Bruce Hazard

Chris Massa Pelletier

Gerald Oppenheim

Daniel Ostapenko

Jacob Ostapenko

Margaret Weeks*

Second Violins

Zach Bates

Adelheid Koepfer

Jo-Ann Little

Joanne VanVlack

Donna Lynch


Laura Bertekap

Joanna Faizarano

Edwin Hord

Ying Tao

Donna Lynch


Eileen Benoit

Craig Cowing

Ben Foster

Tom Frank

Paula Knight*

Kim Reid*

Sarah Sigler


Jang Kim

Don Wallace


Judith Beers*

Caroline Jacobs*

Mary Schmelcke


Mary Schmelcke


Kathy Clark

Janet Johnson

English Horn

Kathy Clark


Jean Gura

Brooke Minassian


Sue Lonergan*

Brenda Tousignant*


Lindsey Macnab-Renald

Judith Pierson

Bill Shea


Ralph Bonfiglio

Jack Garber

Erin Sciricia

Joel Schlank


Griffin Gunther

Paul Johnson

Bill Prasil


Chris Schrock


Ted Kuhne


Jane Bates

* Board of Directors

© 2017-2021 Cheshire Symphony Orchestra